Marma Duke

Okay, maybe it’s marmalade. But doesn’t Marma Duke sound so much better?!?

I’m not going to lie, there is a lot of steps in this, but it can be split up over a few days if needed. The full recipe can be seen on tasty kitchen. http://thepioneerwoman.com/tasty-kitchen/recipes/canning/marma-duke/

Start by covering 6 lbs of Seville Oranges in 20 cups water. Use a big pot, I used a 20 quart pot and that was the right size for later in the process. If you don’t have that big of pot, half the batch. Boil them for about 2 hours, or until very soft, turning occasionally for even cooking.

And yes, that is my lens in the reflection!

After they’ve had a good long bath, take them out with tongs or a slotted spoon

And set to cool

Once cool enough to handle, cut in half

And scoop out the insides into a cheesecloth bag. I put doubled over cheesecloth over a bowl so that I didn’t lose the juices!

Tie up the cheesecloth into a bag and put into the pot o juices

And simmer, covered for 10 minutes to extract any extra pectin. After this was done. I put it all in the fridge for 24 hours until I had time again, but you can continue on! It’s just nice to know you don’t have to do it all at once.

Half the peels again and scrape the bitter pith out of the peels. The next few things, up to dicing the peel, can be done when you have extra time at some point, but not enough time to finish the marmalade. (Extra time? With a 1 1/2 old? While trying to get schoolwork done because I’m a part time college student? When there is wood to be chopped? Dishes? Dinner to be made?) I know the concept of extra time is a weird one, but I finished this up during an 1 1/2 hr teleconference on Guiding and Caring! (I’m an Early Childhood Educations Student).

I didn’t use all the peels.

Why? Because some of with some of them the pith didn’t go opaque, and I couldn’t scrape it out easily. Pith=bitter. Bitter=BAD. Orange on the left= good. Orange on the right = BAD.

Next time I’ll make sure I cook longer and turn more often.

Once all peels are scraped, figure out how you want the peels in the marma’. I wanted a small dice. You could have thick strips or thin strips too!

Then dice to desired size…

Oh you noticed the ring? Why am I wearing a ring? That’s because I just got engaged a few days ago!

When you have a good couple hours embark on the next step. Juice lemons and add into orange juice and peels. Measure these three in cups and put into the big 20 quart pot. I got 24 cups. How many did you get? Anyway, now we add 24 cups of sugar! This sounds horrific, but it’s actually not that sweet and is needed to help the marma’ set and counteract the bitterness of the peels.

Put a few small plates in the fridge, you’ll need this in a bit. Boil for a good 30 minutes (20 if you halve the recipe). Test the jelly every 5 minutes after this point to see if it’s set. To test, put a little spoonful on a cold plate and let it sit in the fridge for a few minutes. If the sides crinkle, then it’s done. My jelly never reached this point, but what had spilled on the counter was setting, so I thought it was done. A candy thermometer at 220 degrees works as well. Skim off any froth, froth is bad! Froth is bitter in marmalade!

Remove pot from heat and let sit for 20 minutes before pouring into sterilized jars.

Store in refrigerator. If you wish to can this, please consult your canning guide, as I am not a professional at canning and am not trained to instruct on safe canning procedures.

On the difficulty scale, this preserve is up there, but so worth it as well! Enjoy, and make sure you make it soon, Seville Oranges are only in season for a short time, and it’s now!

Leave a Reply

