Better than Store-bought Salad Dressing

**Update July 2013…this post is badly in need of some new photos and it’s on my to do list! Bear with me if you’re reading it before then**

If you know us, you know that we don’t eat salad in the winter. It’s definitely not in season and we eat in like it’s going out of style when in season. I broke this rule yesterday, because I wanted a gosh darn salad so bad! So I bought an organic head of iceberg lettuce and didn’t feel bad about it. (Okay, maybe a wee bit)

The other item I never buy is salad dressing! It’s so easy to make and tastes better, without the preservatives!

In a glass mixing jar or pint mixing jar. Mix 1 part balsamic vinegar to 2 parts olive oil, equaling about 1/2 c. I forgot to actually measure this part!

A teaspoon dijon mustard (actually, regular ol’ yellow french’s ain’t bad either)

about the same of maple syrup

Salt and Pepper to taste, a spice or herb of your choice, about a half a teaspoon of that spice. In the summer I’ll use handfuls of basil or cilantro or parsley oh yum! Three cloves garlic

Scale the garlic back if you aren’t a huge fan of garlic or, have new guests coming over for dinner. This is very garlicky!

Using an imersion blender, (alternatively, pour this all in a regular blender or food processor) and process until smooth! It ends up kinda creamy, and coats the salad so well.

I may or may not be known for drinking the leftover dressing off my plate.

My lawyer advised me not to confirm or deny that.

3 thoughts on “Better than Store-bought Salad Dressing

  1. Salad in Winter = good. Iceberg lettuce = crunchy water with no actual nutrition. I figure if I’m gonna go out of season, go whole-hog and get real green stuff. 🙂 Romaine, red or green leaf lettuce, Bibb, whatever – just not iceberg! *shudder*

    But totally with you on the homemade dressing! Oh, if you want a creamier dressing, yogurt or sour cream make it SOOOO good, and if you make your own you get the probiotics too. 🙂

    • In the summer all I buy is greens and baby lettuce from local farmers, or we grow it ourselves. I can get local lettuce from April-October. If I bought baby greens, they would go off fast, and they didn’t look so hot either. Other heads of lettuce we’re non-existent! I love greens, but this was my only option that day!

      We make our own yogurt, so it’s always in abundance. I should add it, but I never end up remembering to! Do you make your own yogurt? I have the pictures to post my recipe, I must say it is fantastic.

      How did you find my blog? Thanks for commenting! I lalalove hearing from readers!

  2. Pingback: Crabby Wabby Dippy Wippy « Venison for Dinner

Leave a Reply

