Heaven.

Not the place you go when the Good Lord calls you home.

The place where your mind goes when you eat something dee-lish.

Like these!

Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Coconut Frosting

I can practically hear the angels singing a heavenly sigh!

My sister Gingersnap, was buying a new truck and had to fly down from Northern BC to pick it up in Vancouver. She had three days off from work and one day to spend with us!

She texted me a few days before she was to visit:

GS: “You better bake me something tasty to eat on my long drive up”

Me: “Really? I’m kinda digging cupcakes for a treat”

GS: “And yes, I am a brat”

GS: “CUPCAKES?!”

We concluded that coconut would be a lovely flavour and I stewed over it for daaays on how I would best infuse with coconut.

Coconut cupcakes with mint frosting and toasted coconut on top?

Coconut cupcakes with coconut frosting?

Chocolate cupcakes with coconut frosting?

Bada Bing Bingo!

I used our families “Classic Dark Chocolate Cake” recipe, that makes a 9″x13″ cake, 3  8″ layers or 24 cupcakes. I am by no means a professional baker, but I wanted them to be even in sized, so I used a 1/4 c measure and each medium cupcake wrapper was filled with a scant 1/4 c measure.

I knew the frosting had to be special. These cupcakes were to be a statement! I’ve used “The Best Frosting I’ve Ever Had” recipe on a two different occasions. It’s a Tasty Kitchen recipe that has been highly praised. I knew that coconut milk was very similar to the raw whole cow’s milk I used before, except it’s a wee bit thicker if all the coconut cream is stirred in.

Without further rambling…here goes nothing!

Mix together batter as per instructions and get your tools out. A teaspoon for scooping the batter out of the scooper and a 1/4 c measure. I had a spatula in there for good luck. All it did was get in the way!

Scoop a scant 1/4 c of batter into each medium cupcake paper

And bake for 12 minutes, flip around if your oven ain’t convection like mine, and bake another 3-5 until a toothpick comes out cleans!

I started the frosting while these were baking, but of course I didn’t get any photos!

I took them out of the pan right away because I wanted them to get cooling already! I ran a knife around the edges and lifted them onto a cutting board. (Oh cooling rack where art thou?) (Mac? Where the heck did you put it already?) (Cowboy? What hunting/fishing/trapping endevour did you use it for and not bring it back?)

It was a briskly cool day for our area and I put them on the freezer outside to cool

You see why this is called Classic Dark Chocolate Cake? They are very dark for sure! It’s the coffee that does it, I’m sure.

When they were cool, and the icing was ready, I scooped it into a piping bag, but didn’t put a tip on, leaving it as a big hole. This was the easiest way to ice cupcakes…ever!

Plus side, was they also look professional!

Cowboy could NOT get enough of these. Neither could I! Or my Grandparents, or my other Grandparents, or my Mom, or Gingersnap or my “Brother-in-law to be’s brother and girlfriend”. Whoo, that last one was a mouthful! I’ve never actually met the said brother or BIL or his girlfriend, but Gingersnap shared with them on her drive up as she stayed overnight at their apartment.

You have GOT to make these!

Classic Dark Chocolate Cake

2 c sugar

1 3/4 c flour

3/4 c cocoa

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

2 eggs

1/2 c oil

1 tsp vanilla

1 c strong coffee

Combine Dry in a large mixing bowl, or bowl of your stand mixer. Add wet and beat for 2 minutes. This is a thinner batter.

Preheat oven to 350F. Line 24 muffin cups with liners.

Scoop a scant 1/4 c into each liner.

Bake 12 min, turn around, and bake another 3-5 minutes, until a toothpick comes cleans.

Run a knife around the edges and place on a cooling rack to cool.

Frost with the following!

Coconut Frosting

2/3 c coconut milk, cream stirred in

1/3 c whole milk

4 tbsp flour

1 tsp vanilla

1 c soft butter

1 c granulated sugar (NOT icing sugar!!)

Cook milks and flour until as thick as brownie batter, stirring with a whisk frequently. It will take a good whack on the side of you pot with the whisk to get it all out when it’s thick enough. Cool until room temperature or cooler. Add vanilla. In a stand mixer, or bowl with beaters, beat butter and sugar until the sugar is well mixed, but it will still be kinda grainy. This is a couple minutes. Add cooled milk mixture and beat the living daylights out of it. It will be the consistensy of whipped cream. If it looks seperated…keep going! This will be quite a few minutes of high speed beating. Scoop into a piping bag with large tip, or don’t put a tip on and keep it as a big opening. Pipe onto cupcakes! Ices two dozen cupcakes.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Heaven.

  1. they were ammaaaaaaazing.
    so sad that i shared and therefore only got to eat 2 out of the 6.
    by the way kate, your grammar makes it sound like you’ve never met your future brother in law, OR his brother and brother’s girlfriend.
    but we all know you’ve met my FH
    and the icing was sooooooo good!

  2. Pingback: I made a mistake… « Venison for Dinner

    • I added a bit of peanut butter to the frosting another time…and it’s amazing as well! Beat it in with the butter and use regular milk, not coconut milk.

Leave a Reply

