Looking at the Monster in the Closet

I have a cousin who, no matter how much a put a bug in her ear about using dried beans over canned beans, still used canned beans!

You know who you are.

Dried beans have crazy good reasons for being used over canned beans.

No added salt, not preserved in tin, way cheaper!

This is the cost breakdown for where I live.

1 can of beans = 1 3/4 c of beans @ $1.50 per can

1 lb of dried beans = 6 c of cooked beans @ $1.50- $2.75 per pound

Canned beans = $0.86 per cup

Dried beans = $0.25- $0.45 per cup

Are you a convert yet? Yes they take a bit of extra work, but I’m going to show you how to make that all easier for you!

Dried beans must be soaked, either overnight, or a one hour quick soak. I’m going to show you how I do the overnight method.

I filled quart jars (and one pint jar) with various beans I had. You don’t want to fill your container more than half, because they will swell that much!

Left to right is small white beans, garbanzo beans (chick peas), black beans, kidney beans and adzuki beans.

Here is what adzuki beans look like. They are pretty tiny. I’d never used them before, but heard my sister mention them once, and when I came across them for $1.50/lb, I couldn’t pass them up! This is a whole pound in the jar.

By the way, as much as it looks pretty using mason jars, they were a pain in my rear to get the overnight soaked beans out of. Use yogurt containers or another similar container.

Fill the container up to the top with water, and go to bed.

Look how much they grew!

This is where we get to the cooking. Different beans call for different cooking times. Anywhere from an hour to an hour and a half. Bring them to a boil, then lower to a simmer and cook away. Take a bean out, let it cool off, and bite it in half. A bit on the undercooked side is better. There will be white inside if they are undercooked. I cooked the adzuki beans waaay too long! I had 3 pots going on the stove one morning while we were plugging away getting ready for the day.

Drain, rinse and set aside the beans to cool. You can bag them in ziplock,

Oooorrr, if you’re a lucky gal like me, you’ll have a Foodsaver vacuum packer your Mom and Stepdad gifted you and your fiance for Christmas! Wahoo!

I packaged them all in about 2-3 c bags for easy thawing!

And labeled them with bean type and date. You can reuse Foodsaver bags, and even simmer them in water, so you could thaw these so easily. Look I now have 11 bags of various beans in my freezer! I used some in Chili I made that day. I’ll share that recipe soon.

S0 nice and handy!

Sooo much cheaper.

So Cousin? Do I have you convinced yet?

I wrote a whole darn blog post dedicated to it, just to trying and convert you!

Do you want me to bring over beans to your house and show you directly how to do this?

I am so dedicated to this mission, that I will even go that far!!!

5 thoughts on “Looking at the Monster in the Closet

    • Yes! I would love that 🙂 Make sure to start soaking them Saturday night! And a little bit of dried beans makes 2-3X as much cooked beans…

  1. Pingback: Venison Falafel « Venison for Dinner

Leave a Reply

