Cloth in the Home

Reposting a popular post…My semester is done this weekend and I’ll be back in action next week! yahoo!

It makes me shudder, the amount of disposable cloths, paper towels, rags and diapers some people go through.

Cloth diapers are one thing, as they take more of a commitment, you sort of need to have a parent or caregiver at home, and if you don’t have a washing machine, it’s going to be a heck of a time!

These are a basic cloth prefold that we’ve used from the time Mac was 4 days old! We have terry towel cloths we use as liners for extra absorbancy and this has been very effective for us. We use Thirsties Duo Wraps for covers and they are amazing. Instead of 4 sizes, there is 2 adjustable sizes. We have cloth wipes that we use when we’re at home, but bring disposable wipes in the diaper bag, as it’s not always possible to find a water source when you’re out.

For drying our hands and dishes, we use dish towels, and wash them whenever they are wet or dirty. I can’t imagine the amount of paper towels we would go through if we used them! The expense, let alone the garbage, makes me shudder.

100% cotton is the most absorbant!

For washing dishes, I use a good scrubby brush and dish clothes. These are used for everything from wiping Mac’s hands, washing dishes, cleaning up spills and wiping counters!

When it comes to cleaning, I have cleaning rags. Again, I don’t use paper towel for cleaning either. For about $5 at the lumber store you can get a bag of rags. They are off cuts of wrongly sewn sweatpants and sweatshirt type clothing. I cut them into about 8″ square pieces, as I find them the best size. An alternative is getting a ‘rag bag’ from the thrift store, or cutting up old t-shirts. As for cleaning spray, I use vinegar and water in a spray bottle, with a ratio of about 3 parts water to 1 part vinegar. This works brilliantly and is super cheap. I clean counters, toilets, sinks, etc with this.

Now the one thing you MUST know about using lots of cloth in the home, is having a fantastic detergent. Especially with cloth diapers.

Why do I need a good detergent? Well, most detergents coat your clothes to repel water. This is good for clothes, but not so for diapers and cleaning rags! I use Rockin’ Green Diaper Detergent for ALL of our laundry. It’s amazing. I can’t rave enough about it. While it is on the pricier side because the shipping to Canada is $25 for 6 bags, it is free shipping for purchases over $75 if you live in the States! I use just 1 tbsp for our regular laundry and just a bit more for diapers. I cannot tell you enough about this, you have to go order a sample, if not a bag! My sister has hard hard water that leaves marks on her clothes, and with this, she doesn’t get them anymore. My other sister soaked her fiance’s work socks that she had already washed in a different deteregent, in Rockin’ Green, and the colour of the water that came out of them was repulsive.

My guilty statement? I keep a roll of paper towel around for draining bacon! *Hand Slap* I’m so bad!

I am not in any way endorsed by Rockin’ Green, just trying to pass on the good word to other people!

7 thoughts on “Cloth in the Home

  1. Rocking Green Detergent is AMAZING. But just wanted to make the comment that using cloth nappies is not all that much work. You can get much easier versions then the prefolds. Just google Modern Cloth nappy and go to town. There are a lot of brand made locally by Stay at home Mums, so you are supporting your locals.
    I’m a working single mum. SO no need to have someone at home. Basically you rinse and scrape off any poo and throw them in a bucket with a lid (no need to soak) then every 2-3 days put them through a rinse cycle, then a full wash cycle with a tiny amount of detergent. I used to wash them while cooking dinner/bathing/bedding down bubs then hang them out. (Some brands you can put in a dryer ..but we all know that burns electricity)
    For wipes cut some squares of brushed cotton (can even cut up an old pair of winter pjs) or get some cheap facecloths. Wet half a dozen or so, wring out and place in a sealed container (eg old marg container) If going out put them in a zip lock bag. Just rince poop off and trow them in the bucket with your naps

    The initial outlay for good quality modern cloth nappies is big (around $30 nappy) So I brought them in batches during pregnancy and as bubs grew when they were on sale. I’d say I spent approx $5-600 on nappies in the 2.5 years he wore them. (and recouped about $200 selling them second hand) People spend that in disposibles in afew months, not to mention the land fill issue plus the amount of water there production takes.

    GO CLOTH! 🙂

    • I totally am a cloth advocate. Prefolds are super easy and way cheaper for us. It cost us $80 to make 24, plus $10 on towelette washcloths for liners. The covers are $14 each and you only need two sizes, about 6-8 per size. It’s way more cost effective than buying $30 a pop diapers in a few sizes. There is always exceptions to every rule, and good for you for doing cloth as a single working mom! I did try the wetting and bringing with you for cloth wipes, but it’s just worked out better for us to use disposable wipes. We do keep some disposables on hand for emergencies or when we’ve gone to visit my inlaws who don’t have a washing machine. I don’t think that cloth diapers are much work either, too many people thing they are so involved. I could write a whole post about cloth diapers, but that’s for another day 🙂

  2. For any Northerners looking for Rockin’ Green…. I was lucky enough to stumble upon it at ‘Everything Baby’ store in Prince george. It costs about $20 which seems expensive, but a bag will last me about 6 months, as i only use about 2 tbsp per load.
    By the way, i dont have babies or cloth diapers to test this on, but i do have a fiance who makes his clothes very very dirty on the drills-and it works wonders!

  3. Pingback: The (un)fair state of my bathroom. « Venison for Dinner

  4. Pingback: Christmas at our House! « Venison for Dinner

  5. Pingback: Cloth in the Home update |

Leave a Reply

