Homemade Convenience- I love a good dip.

**Update July 2013…this post is badly in need of some new photos and it’s on my to do list! Bear with me if you’re reading it before then**

I’d say it’s almost a bad thing. I’ll eat it with my finger!

Whoops. Did it again.

And I decided it isn’t a bad thing. Especially when you make it yourself!

Yogurt, herbs, garlic, dried onion…perfection.

And Home made Dilly Dip was born 🙂

Truthfully, I originally made it to cover up the ucky taste of salmon the other night. Then I used the leftovers to dip carrots in.

And I was hooked! You could add some mayo for a thicker dip as well. Or strain the yogurt so that it’s thicker.

Do you ever use that trick? Straining yogurt in a colander or strainer lined with cheesecloth or a paper towel for a couple hours to overnight makes your yogurt thick and tasty for tzatziki, frozen yogurt, dips or ummm, eating.

Ready for some healthy additive free dippin’?

I am!

Oh, and here is how we had it with salmon

Yech.

Unless you’re into that kinda thing like Cowboy. Then you’ll think it’s “sooo delish you should make this more often daaahrlink.”

Okay so he’d never say that. He’s just say “This is good. Eat your fish.” Hah. Men.

p.s. Like our plates? We have blue ones too! And a matching set of beautiful red and cream that’s not so great and some of the plates break when you put hot food on them. Isn’t it great to be young and have everything hand me downs or thrift store found. Yes!

Yogurt Dill Dip/Sauce

3/4 c plain yogurt

2 tsp dried dill

2 tsp dried minced onions

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 tsp pepper

1 tsp salt

Mix all together and let sit atleast 30 min to let flavour combine.

One thought on “Homemade Convenience- I love a good dip.

Leave a Reply

