Amy Hargrave’s Pie Crust

I’m taking part in Foodie Friday!

 

 

This is by far, my favourite pie crust. The method is unique, but it’s a good thing, it makes it waaaay easier!

You start by beating together the lard and butter. Oh yes, I love animal fats. I would rather use naturally occuring fats and oils than heavily processed ones such as shortening and margarine. You with me?

Next, you mix in the flour and salt. I used fresh ground soft white wheat from my Nutrimill. Mix it in well too! Then form a well in the center for the water, and stir the water in well. It’s going to be sticky. You can use it right away, or put it in a bag in the fridge for upto 10 days. I used half right away.

It will make one double crust, or two single crust pies.

I made a lemon meraingue pie! At 10 pm! What was I thinking!

Cute plate though, eh?

Amy Hargrave’s Pie Crust

1 cup lard

1/4 c butter

3 cups fresh ground soft white wheat (or whole wheat pastry flour, white whole wheat, or half and half white and whole wheat flour. Or All white! But I like whole wheat…)

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 c COLD water

Beat together soft lard and butter with a wooden spoon or spatula. Mix in salt. Then gradually add flour. Then mix water in until well mixed. Divide in half and put in plastic bag, flattened to 2 inches and into the fridge for up to 10 days. Or use right away. A little harder to use right away as it is sticky and you won’t roll it out, but press it into the pan. Bake at 400F for 12-15 minutes, then use according to your pie filling recipe.

4 thoughts on “Amy Hargrave’s Pie Crust

  1. Despite the fact that I’m an insanely busy student – I’ve managed to try at least this recipe from amy’s recipe book. I thought it was amazing given that I don’t know much about pastries – it had a great outcome! I’m glad you share in my enthusiasm for it! I’m never going to look for another pastry recipe that is for SURE. xox

Leave a Reply

