I Did It!

I finally made lip balm! I’ve been debating for so long. Then I saw Eden Hill‘s recipe for lip balm and it was sooo simple. How could I not?!

 

 

She used corn oil, but I wanted to use coconut oil. While more expensive, I felt it would be the oil right for me! Mom had some, and was only using a bit for deodorant, so she said I could use it. (I gave her a little pot in return.) I had an “Aha!” moment when she was taking the beeswax candle stubs out of her candleabras. She was going to get rid of them…I needed beeswax for my lip balm. So it turned out to be even more frugal, as she gave me 4 stubbies, weighing 1 1/2 oz all together, and I only needed 1/4 oz. I still have lots for next time! You will need an accurate scale for this.

I changed up the recipe a bit, so without further ado, here is my version!

 

4 tbsp coconut oil

1/4 oz beexwax

1 tsp honey

 

Melt oil and wax together in microwave or in a double boiler. I put it in my glass 1 cup measure into the microwave. It took 2 1/2 minutes, and I stirred 3 times. Then I poured it into a bowl, added the honey and whisked it together well. After that it went into the fridge for 5 minutes to harden up a bit (coconut oil is a solid below 24 degrees C.), whisked it together more then poured it between two 1/4 cup containers.

It made 1/3 of a cup altogether, and cost me about a dollar. I put that in the center console of my car, and now I’m set for lip balm for months! Wahoo!

2 thoughts on “I Did It!

    • It’s fantastic! Thank-you for the best plain-jane homemade recipe ever! I live in Canada, and haven’t found a place to buy the tubes that the shipping isn’t more than the price of the tubes alone, but I’d really like that!

Leave a Reply

