Venison Stew!

I’ve posted a couple  stew recipes before, but I rarely make the same stew twice. I go with the flow, see what I have on hand!

Last night I was feeling the ‘bare bones simple deep earthy flavours’ type of stew.

This is what I ended up with!

But before I knew it,

A little hand showed up in my picture and wrinkled my napkin!

 

Before I knew it…

He had the spoon!

It was a downhill slide from there

He decided he needed to dig in

And decided it was tasty!

Apparently a bowl of stew on the floor is too tasty to let sit there!

 

In the stew I used many of my farmstand finds from last weeks’ Shopping Spree, including carrots, potatoes and parsnips. I invite you to sub whatever vegetables you have, or prefer, as well as the fresh herbs, this is an outline more than anything!

 

Here’s the recipe for you:

 

Bold and Earthy Venison Stew

2 tbsp High heat cooking oil

1 lb venison stew meat (substitute whatever game or beef)

4 cloves homegrown garlic, chopped (which is much stronger than storebought, so I’d say add 6 cloves)

2 green onions, chopped

1 1/2 c EACH carrots and parsnips, diced

3 medium potatoes, roughly chopped

1 cup cooked spagetti squash. (I froze pureed squash on cookie sheets, then broke it apart and put it in bags. I know Stahlbush farms frozen foods sells bags of squash, you can get those at our grocery store, Country Grocer.)

1 tsp salt (adjust to taste!)

12 grinds fresh black pepper (adjust to taste!)

2- 6″ lengths EACH of fresh rosemary and thyme, destemmed

2 1/2 to 3 cups water

 

Heat up a heavy bottom pot on medium-high heat. Add oil, then meat. Toss it around until it starts to brown, add garlic and onions. Continue to brown. When good and browned, add carrots, parsnips and potatoes, brown some more! Add salt, pepper, thyme, rosemary and water. The water should just about cover the meat and veg. Bring to a boil, then turn down to medium-low, cover and simmer for an hour. You’re ready to eat!

 

9 thoughts on “Venison Stew!

  1. It’s a set of three prep bowls that Cowboy’s Mom gave me as a bridal shower present. She got them at Pharmasave! That’s the smallest.

    • I find that for the most part, good venison (i.e. not freezer burnt, poorly dealt with) can be put in the place of beef in any recipe. The only recipe I’ve ever had that actually called for venison is my Mom’s recipe called Big Game Round steaks. It’s a winner, and it’s posted on this blog. You’ve got to try it! I’ll be posting a recipe next week for a creative and delicious way to use ground venison.

  2. Pingback: Hunters wife? I got yo back. |

Leave a Reply

