Brownie Pudding

Okay, so I’ve been SUPER bad about writing down and taking pictures of dinner, especially Venison. I’ve been wanting to share some different recipes with you, so I’m going to make sure I record some for you this week to share! The one thing I’m great at taking pictures of though, is baking. I made this last night for dessert and we ate almost the whole pan!!

 

 

My Mom made this all the time when I was younger and I’m ashamed to admit this is the first time I’ve made this for Cowboy. He’s had it once at Mom’s house so he was super stoked when I said I was going to make it. It’s quite unique, because you mix together a brownie like batter, sprinkle it with cocoa and brown sugar, then pour boiling water over top!

 

Then this amazingly magical thing happens where the brownie batter raises to the top, and on the bottom is a chocolate pudding. WHAAAT?! I know, it’s pretty darn crazy, almost like a science experiment.

 

Which means it’s educational and you should make it with your children right now.

 

Oh, you don’t have any children? Well….you’re never too old to keep learning!

 

Brownie Pudding

Part 1:

1 c Fresh ground Soft White Wheat Flour (Or whole wheat pastry flour, white whole wheat, or any mixture you’d like. Even a bit of spelt would go great)

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 c sugar

2 tbsp cocoa

1/2 tsp salt

Part 2:

1/2 c milk

1 tsp vanilla

2 tbsp grapeseed oil (or another fairly flavourless oil, not extra virgin olive oil!)

1/2 c chopped walnuts, optional

Part 3:

3/4 c brown sugar

1/4 c cocoa

1 3/4 c boiling water

 

Mix together Part 1, add in Part 2. Spread into a greased 9″x9″ pan. Mix together dry ingredients of Part 3, sprinkle over batter and then pour hot water ontop. Bake immediately @ 350F for 1 hour. (Or 325F convection for 55 minutes). Put a dollop of vanilla ice cream on top and serve warm!

This is a good one to prep to the point of just before pouring the water on top when you have guests, and right before dinner, pour the water on top and bake while you eat, then it’ll be ready in a decent time after you finish dinner!

 

And it’s low fat! Because of the low oil! Not that those sort of things seem to matter to me….

 

One thought on “Brownie Pudding

Leave a Reply

