A little present for your Morning, Afternoon or Quiet time.

I’ve got this little present for you. It comes in the form of a recipe, and delivers you a great sense of relaxation.

 

I don’t like coffee, I do enjoy mint tea, but what gives me great satisfaction is having a mug of chai latte.

 

There is no way I would buy it in the store. It’s too peppery for my tastes, and too expensive for my wallet to handle on a regular basis. Of course I drink it with full fat raw milk. So yummy in my tummy.

 

My Mom was given this recipe from a friend, Natalie, and I cherish it. It’s quite simple to make, and I like to double it and can it in quarts for myself, and pints to give away. Whoever you make it for, will ask for the recipe so keep it handy and be ready to write it out again.

 

As for Cardamom, where I like, you’ll pay an arm and a leg for it, so it’s one of the few things I buy off island to keep this a very frugal recipe.

 

Natalies Chai Syrup

18 c boiling water

4 cinnamon sticks

1 tsp salt

1/3 c cardamom pods

9 whole cloves

15 peppercorns

2/3 sliced ginger

 

Simmer the above for an hour. Add 2 1/2 c sugar (I’m going to experiment making it with honey.) Bring to a boil and do so for 5 minutes.

 

Add 1/2 c loose black tea, simmer 5 minutes, then strain out all your spices and tea.

 

Either cool and refridgerate or hot water bath can (15 minutes) at this point, or continue to boil it a bit longer so that you have less liquid to store.

 

I like to boil it down a bit more, then can it in quarts and pints.

 

Make a mug by heating up a mixture of 1/4 -1/3 c syrup and enough milk to make it 1 c all together. Use whole milk, skim milk, soy milk, almond milk, or whatever you please. My suggestion is whole milk, of course!

 

 

12 thoughts on “A little present for your Morning, Afternoon or Quiet time.

  1. I’m dying to make this (saw your comment on 5 dollar dinners :-). I just have 2 questions:
    “buy off island” – in terms of cardamom, what does this mean?
    “2/3 sliced ginger” : 2/3 of what? 🙂
    thanks for posting; can’t wait to try it!

  2. Pingback: Immune Boosting Spiced London Fog |

Leave a Reply

