A Giveaway!

 

Y’all, you don’t know how excited I am to tell you about this. When it was finalized, I did a jig in the kitchen and just couldn’t WAIT for my husband to get home so that I could tell him.

I’m hosting a Salt Spring Seeds Giveaway. 

Who is Salt Spring Seeds?

In short, the best source for non-GMO, heritage, heirloom, untreated, open-pollinated, proven variety seeds ever. ‘Round this house? They rule the garden roost, and are based on the island I live on.

Dan Jason is the founder of Salt Spring Seeds which is celebrating it’s 25th year in 2012! He does neat things like the Seed Sanctuary, which is preserving these heirloom seeds that have been around for so long, so that they don’t become extinct and wrote fascinating books.

The reason I wanted to hold a Salt Spring Seeds giveaway is because it’s a product my family truly uses and tells our friends about. I was fully prepared to sponsor it myself, but Dan Jason so generously offered to fully sponsor this, so that one of you is going to be the lucky winner of 5 packs of seeds!

Here is why I love them:

1)They’re sustainable

2) The packets of seeds don’t have 5 thousand seeds that you’re going to have to throw out 90% of because after a few years they just aren’t viable. The packs have realistic amounts.

3) They’re based on Salt Spring Island, which is where I live!

4) They have the NEATEST varieties!

I could go on, but I want you to read this all, not skip over because this lady won’t stop talking already. 

So without further ado, here is what you’re going to win.

4 packs of my choice including:

*Styrian Pumpkin*

Hull-less seeds for eating raw (!!!), long keeper, will ripen even in wet summers and is good for soups, grating raw into salads or baking. Unfortunately I didn’t plant it in a very good place last year, so they were kind of small, but that was my bad. This year is a different story!

*20 Lettuce Blend*

Best and easiest to grow lettuce blend! I’ve never successfully grown lettuce (I know, how pathetic am I?) until I used this. Now I have beautiful salads!

*Kentucky Wonder Pole Bean*

Fantastic raw, cooked, canned or frozen. I love the versatility of this bean and canned over 20 pounds of it in 2010. You can see those here!

*Russian Kale Mix*

GREAT kale! Picked small for eating raw, large for steaming and stir frying or dried for using in winter soups or Buddah Kohl. It actually kept very well over winter and in the spring started growing again.

I chose these because they can all be direct sown, and don’t need special weather or fancy care. Also, they are my favourites!

Now for the 5th seed, that’s going to be your choice! Here is how you can enter, as you have the option for multiple entries. This is open to Canada and the USA, no age restrictions.

Entry #1 Mandatory- Go over to to the Salt Spring Seeds website, pick two different variety of seeds you would love to plant in your own garden. Comment on this post with what those are. If you are chosen, I’ll get one of those for you. I’m asking for two in case one of them is sold out, so let me know what your first choice is. If you want, you can comment with more than one because it’s so fun to share what you want to plant!

Optional additional entries:

Entry #2- Go to Facebook and ‘Like’ Salt Spring Seeds AND Venison for Dinner, then come back and comment on the post saying that you did so.

Entry #3- Post the link to this post on your Facebook page, sharing it with your friends and encouraging them to enter as well! Here is the shortlink: http://wp.me/p1dqS3-hm

Entry #4- Post the link to this post on your own blog, encouraging your readers to come and enter the giveaway.

Get entering people, you want to win this one! 

(And if you are like me in a contest like this, I’ll end up buying of my own because I’m so jealous of whoever wins!)

*Disclaimer* I was given these seeds to give away to one lucky reader, all opinions are mine and I was not paid to say all these things, they just come from my heart*

 

**Draw takes place on Wednesday March 7th at 10am PST**

45 thoughts on “A Giveaway!

  1. Already liked yours, didn’t know that Dan had a FB page so now I’ve like that too. I’m hoping that Dan has some Mustard green seeds as I haven’t been able to find any yet this “spring” and I’m missing them madly… I’ve got some turnip seeds for those greens, but I’m a major green chick and have some crazy cravings. So cool to see you doing this Kate… I remember wandering through our big garden with you when you and Logan were in soccer together and I was still commuting off island to finish my horticulture at Uni. ~we chatted lots about cucumber growing LOL xo

      • So excited to get the new seeds…. I lost some nice sunflower seedlings and a few others when the wind storm overturned my greenhouse on Sunday night. I haven’t done cucumbers since we closed the big greenhouse, but I bet Dan would have great advice. Looking forward to getting the seeds. Thanks~!

  2. Oh KATE, how EXCITING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I already ‘like’ you on facebook and just liked Salt Spring Seeds, too. 🙂

    I’d want:
    Nodding Onion (Allium cernuum) ($3.50)
    Maria’s » certified organic tomatoes for canning and eating ($3.50)

  3. I would love to try the Boothby’s Blonde Cucumber (Cucumis sativus) seeds and the Exhibition Longpod Fava beans.
    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(DOT)com

Leave a Reply

