Dog Treats

Everyone loves treats in our house…even the dog! We don’t personally have a dog but my Mom still has the small dog I had growing up, Cricket and my Stepdad has a yellow lab, Roscoe.

My Mom took this picture of Mac a few months ago, with Cricket. The mini box of cereal he’s eating is his ‘forest fairy’ treat. Everyday when we milk the cow, Mac looks for this treat which my Mom, the ‘forest fairy’ hides for him. It ranges from almonds to chocolate coins. The healthy outweigh the non, but he sure enjoys finding a dozen jelly beans! It all started when I had to milk on my own a bunch and I needed to keep Mac amused while I did. Mom started giving him a small treat and now he looks forward to it everyday.

This is Roscoe! He was my Sister #2’s dog, but she was living in the city, which is not the best place for a large dog, so my Stepdad ‘adopted’ him. Roscoe is very lucky because Doug is a carpenter and takes him to work with him everyday. Some places he can just hang out where Doug is and others he’s got to stay in the truck, but gets taken on a walk at lunch.

When I put the treats on a little tray to take a picture outside, Mac REALLY wanted me to put them on his table, where all winter I get the only natural light and have to take pictures. You probably are familiar with the tile by now.  He also wanted to help with the pictures!

The chickens and dogs are just over an inch big and the candy canes are 2 1/2 inches. I just used Mac’s playdoh cookie cutters for them.

Dog Treats


1 egg

1/3 c butter

1 tsp salt

1 tbsp beef boullion (I use Better than Boullion)

3/4 c hot water

3 c flour (Use whatever you have, but I used a mix of spelt, whole wheat, quinoa and buckwheat)

 

Mix all but water together, then add in flour. I used my Kitchenaid mixer but you could use a bowl with spoon or handmixer. Knead together a few times until it makes a good workable dough, thats not sticky. Add more flour if neccesary.  Roll out to 1/2″ thick, cut out with preferred cutters and put on cookie sheets. No need to space as they don’t rise or spread. Bake at 325F for 35-50 minutes, depending on the size. Animals were 35 minutes, candy canes were 45, but if you used bigger ones they would need longer. When they are done they will be hard to the touch.

4 thoughts on “Dog Treats

Leave a Reply

