Whats up on Instagram?

I know some of you follow me on instagram (@venisonfordinner) but for those who don’t have instagram, or don’t follow me (yet! I’d love for you to follow and introduce yourself) here’s some happenings.

 

We went on a vacay for my youngest brother-in-law’s high school grad. He wore a camo tuxedo. He rocked it. And I made him and my other brother in law Big Dutch Babies. I should really take real photos of those and post the recipe cause they’ll blow your mind baby!

IMG_1207

 

I thought I was going to luck out and Hamish sleep the whole time I milked…I bet on my odds…

IMG_1223

Aaaand I lost. He woke up, but was happy (!) while I finished milking. My Mom got home (our cows live at her house) as I was starting to strain the milk so she took the boys to help her. Whew! Love that Mama of mine!

IMG_1225

I impulse made brownie pudding at about 7 pm on our anniversary. (We didn’t really have anything else planned, which was perfect.) We ate it outside in adirondack chairs watching the sunset. Couldn’t ask for a better evening! Anyway…thats a side note to the part where I ate it for lunch the other day and didn’t feel guilty at all.

IMG_1228

Sooo…I’m really bad about filling up on fuel in my car. The E light had gone on…buuut I wasn’t going to town so I didn’t worry about it. I get 50+km’s once the light goes on. I had the truck the next day and Marius was all MAKE SURE YOU GET GAS. You REALLY REALLY need gas. I start up the truck and there is still 1/4 tank. I filled up only cause I’m a good little wife who listens (NAWT) but had a laugh about our juxtapositioned gas filling up philosophies.

aIMG_1240

I’m slooowly learning to be a cleaner cook/housewife/baker! I took my Nutrimill and grains outside to mill. I made quinoa, chickpea, spelt, buckwheat and local hard red flour for myself, some of those for my Mom, and my sister came down and ground some wheat.

IMG_1243

I just about lost my sanity the other day…but went to the library with the kids instead. They fell asleep right as we got home. I kicked up my feet, tilted back my seat and read a Jamie Oliver cookbook. Sweet Jesus I was rewarded for not losing my cool.

IMG_1256

I made paneer for the first time! Whats your favourite way to use it?

IMG_1259

I’ve been going butter making crazy! No filter on this, just straight up yellow jersey goodness. These are 1/2 c balls for easy use. I freeze them.

IMG_1262

 

2 thoughts on “Whats up on Instagram?

Leave a Reply

