3 ingredient Laundry Detergent

Q: Whats more fun than saving money, with very little time output, on something you need to buy anyways?

A: NOTHING. Thats what.

I knew I should be making my own laundry detergent, but I just never did. Why did I not? Did I feel like I needed to spend more money or something? Sheesh. Get on this band wagon already!

We use this on: cotton flanelette cloth diapers, nice clothes, manure or blood covered clothes. (Note: If there is LOTS of blood, soak/scrub with an enzyme eater first). We use it for everything. J’adore. Maybe one day I’ll try soap nuts, it is on my to try list, but for now I’ve got boxes of borax, washing soda and soap flakes, so I’ll keep on keepin’ on.

Please note that Borax is NOT boric acid, so don’t get your panties in a wad.

laundry detergent

Laundry Detergent:

1 large bar of soap such as Dr. Bronners, homemade soap or Fels Naptha (latter not available in Canada) OR 1 cup soap flakes (I have a box my sister gave me that she got at a health food store)

1 c washing soda (NOT baking soda, BUT if you have loads of baking soda, you can make your own washing soda from it.

1 c borax

Grate the soap. Mix all three together. You’re done. Now use 1 tbsp per load. Good in cold or hot water, front load or top load machines.

This is how I wash my diapers: They all pile up in a bucket with NO water. When it’s full, I dump them in the washing machine and they go on a warm or hot rinse then spin. I have a very large washing machine, so while they’re doing that, I fill up the diaper bucket with the babies clothes that are in the regular laundry hamper. When the rinse is done, I top the machine up with the clothes, and then put it on a heavy warm wash with an extra rinse and spin. They then get hung or chucked in the dryer if I’m feeling Lay-zee. We didn’t have a dryer for the first 5 months of Hamish’ life. Those suckers all got hung!

3 thoughts on “3 ingredient Laundry Detergent

  1. whew! i was just about to ask you for the recipe! good job little buckwheat.
    p.s. ammonia eater – rocking green ammonia eater work well?
    and p.p.s. speaking of borax, did you know that when i first starting dating al i thought ‘hmm he must be an extraordinarily good housecleaner’ because he had a gigantic thing of borax in the kitchen. turns out they use borax to cure salmon roe.
    joke’s on me….

  2. I don’t use an ammonia eater? Maybe you’d need one with microfibre diapers? Not sure. A hot overnight soak in double the detergent before regular washing works wonders. Oh Al….

  3. Pingback: Cloth in the Home update |

Leave a Reply

