Honey-sweetened Sweet Chile Sauce

You’re going to love me for this one.

Wanna know why? Cause I just took a condiment off of the guilty list for ya.

What? I’m patting myself on the back? Yea, it feels pretty good. Almost like a nice back rub.

I saved the link (Pinterest, how do thee use thou?!) on my desktop for a sweet chile sauce months ago and finally got around to trying it when we ran out of the bottle we had. Have you seen whats in the storebought I-call-myself-sweet-chile-sauce-but-im-really-just-sugar-sauce? Read the bottle next time and I promise you it’s little more than water, sugar and corn starch or xantham gum.

SO! I needed a lunch for Marius ASAP, as in, he’d already gone to work with only yogurt and granola for coffee break and without going to the grocery store I had to figure out what I was going to make to bring him. My sister Molly to the rescue…I stole some of her spring roll wrappers and rice noodles. I knew I was up to the challenge of figuring out the sauce to go with it. I made them with thick rice noodles, salad greens and julienned cucumber and zuchinni. Pretty much make them with whatever fresh raw veggies you want. I skipped the meat as I knew they weren’t going to be kept in a cooler if there was leftovers.

Shaye shows you how to make spring rolls here, cause I don’t feel like doing a tutorial at this point.

Back to the sauce, right?

sweet chile sauce

 

I can’t wait to have this with chicken…fish…pork…pot stickers…fried spring rolls…ummm, anything else I’m missing?! It’s the new ketchup!

You can use coconut sugar or a minimally processed sugar such as rapadura or panella, and I guess if you’re in a real pinch you could use regular sugar…but thats not how I try to roll. This is tastiest with honey!

As far as vinegar…go for the rice vinegar if you have it, it’s milder. But I used plain ol’ white vinegar for a equally tasty dip. I also imagine apple cider vinegar would add a nice note!

 

Sweet Chile Sauce

1/3 c honey (1/2 c of other sweetener as honey is sweeter)

1/4 c rice vinegar

1/4 c water

2 tbsp minced garlic (less if you don’t like garlic as much as I do!)

1 tsp red chile flakes (I used smoked from Mountain Rose Herbs)

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp arrowroot starch (if using other sweetener use 1 1/2 tsp. Alternatively substitute for organic corn starch, but you’ll need to use 1 tbsp), made into a slurry in equal amount water

(If extra heat desired, add 1 tsp sriracha)

Bring honey, vinegar and water to a boil, add in garlic, chile flakes and salt, turn down and simmer for 5-10 minutes. Add in arrowroot slurry and simmer until thickened. You may need to up it to a boil to get it to thicken properly if your simmer was a lazy one. Cool and enjoy!

 

 

12 thoughts on “Honey-sweetened Sweet Chile Sauce

    • Yes it needs to be stored in the fridge, I store even store bought sweet chile sauce in the fridge. I’ve never canned it, but I would guess a year, as per usual with most canned goods. My guess on canning would be 15 minutes boiling water canner (for sea level). Enjoy!

    • I’ve never had it go bad, because we always end up using it! But I have a batch in the fridge I had to make with sugar because I was out of honey, needed it for dinner right away and it’s been in there months. My guess is it could be canned, and my guess on canning is that it would be like jam, 15 minutes boiling water canner (at sea level). Let me know if you try!

  1. Thanks for the feedback, I’m definitely going to give this a shot. Your timing, btw, is great. I was pulling my hair out as to what to do for Christmas this year, but not now!

    • Marius things this rocks with deep fried spring rolls and chicken fried steak as well. I’m glad I could be of help…I’m still not sure what I’m doing for Christmas…? You’re more on it than I am! (WAIT! I have already pre ordered Marius’ present πŸ™‚ )

  2. White vinegar is not the best to eat. . . you’re better off using apple cider vinegar or the rice wine vinegar for sure. If you read how white vinegar is made. . . you would not put it in your body

Leave a Reply

