Quick tip for rising bread dough

I don’t know about you, but I like to make a big batch of bread when I’m going to the effort of making it. I’m going to all the effort, and even though we’ll eat just a loaf a week, I might as well make multiple! Problem is, I don’t have a bowl big enough to rise the dough in!

Enter: the stock pot!

bread dough

This here is my 7 qt pot. This was a batch of bread to make 4 loaves, with 11-12 cups of flour. I want to have twice the amount of space for that to rise, meaning I need a big huge bowl…or repurpose a pot! If your pot has a lid with no hole (this one has a vent hole) then use it instead of saran wrap or a wet towel.

Here’s it risen…

 

 

bread dough 2This is the recipe here: Whole Wheat Bread from The Frugal Girl.

I doubled the recipe, used organic unbleached white flour and fresh ground Red Fife flour. I made 2 loaves and 19 medium sized buns. I baked the buns then, but you can freeze then unbaked before their second rise. Just increase baking time by 10-15 minutes.

I needed some sandwich bread for Marius’ lunches and this fits the bill! On sandwich bread I ‘splurge’ on more white flour as I find 100% whole wheat bread is best when the sandwich is toasted and he doesn’t have that ability at work.

Happy Baking!

 

 

Leave a Reply

