Wild Wild Wednesdays- Thyme for Wine marinade

**On Wild Wild Wednesdays I’ll share with you a new recipe for how to use your wild meat whether it be venison, elk or moose! I’ll also add in other wild foraged foods to delight you! I might throw in the odd recipe for chicken, duck or goose that could be adapted to wild meat. If you don’t have wild meat, feel free to sub a similar cut of beef!**

 

We had an “Uptown” meat the other night. Or “Downtown”, maybe, my Dad said, depending on what city you live in! It was my Grandmas birthday and we put out an amazing spread with very little cost on our part. Venison Backstrap and chantarelles are free for the taking, but require work, which is exactly what our sweat equity diet likes! So we served mashed potatoes mixed with steamed kale alongside venison backstrap topped with sauteed onions and chantarelles. Fit for Kings I tell you!

IMG_6293

I”m not sure if this is even a recipe? More of a method? Tender cut of meat=can marinade just 4 hours. Tougher cut of meat=marinade 24 hours.

Thyme for Wine Marinade

On a backstrap, tenderloin or steak of choice, sprinkle salt, pepper and dried or fresh thyme. I’d say over a 4 inch by 6 inch area I used a tablespoon of dried. Use 3 tablespoons if using fresh! Rub it all in there. Then, in a ziplock bag (You’ll chuck it after, so I like to use one I’ve already used once and washed for later use), pour 1/2 c red wine (I used a mix of blackberry and grape wine that had gone ‘sour’ and was no longer nice for drinking) and 1 tablespoon of olive oil. If you’re using more than 2 pound of meat, I’d adjust liquid amounts accordingly. Shake the liquid to mix, then add in the meat. Get as much excess air out as possible, close bag, put bag in a pan or bowl for extra insurance and refridgerate. Tougher the meat, the longer you’ll want, upto a day or two! I did just 8 hours for this backstrap. 30 minutes before cooking, take it out of the fridge. If it’s not possible, thats okay!, but meat that has come to room temp will cook better. You can bbq, pan fry or broil. This broiled on high 8 minutes on one side, 4 minutes on the other, then rested for 10 minutes, covered with tin foil. Poifect I tell ya! For other cuts, check out this guide here.  I find venison like ours that has no fat, is best cooked rare. No one needs to chew on shoe leather here! I also adore it thinly sliced. Leftover, sliced, cold, in a sandwich the next day? Can’t be beat.

Enjoy!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Wild Wild Wednesdays- Thyme for Wine marinade

  1. Pingback: Saturday Q&A Post- Loin Cookery and Crockpotin’ |

Leave a Reply

