Farm Fresh Friday/Our Essential Medicine Cabinet- Tick care for Dogs

farm fresh friday

 

Personally, we don’t have a dog, but both Marius and I grew up with multiple dogs underfoot all the time. We’ve decided not to get a dog until we own our own home. BUT! A couple weeks ago we had my stepdads dog, Rosoce, for a week while they were away. He’s a great chap, an 8 yr old yellow lab who’s super calm. He spent most of the time laying on a blanket in our mudroom.

One night while he was laying there, Marius noticed a tick on him! Yuck, so nasty. 

On a side note…When I was 15, my Dad and I went moose hunting in Alberta with friends. My Dad was gutting the moose and got bit by a tick. He was in University at the time and when he got home, He asked his professor about the bite as it was red and inflamed. His Prof told him he was excused from class and to please go to the hospital as that was not good. He was infected with limes disease but able to catch it and didn’t get anything worse than he has minor arthritis. Some people are blinded by it. 

Anywho, after Marius pulled it out, straight out, without twisting, and made sure the head was attached, I decided I needed to put some essential oils on it. Cause in this house? Somethings up? Oh, there’s an oil for that…

essential medicine cabinet

 

I knew Lavender would be anasgelsic and Meleluca (also known as Tea Tree Oil) would be a great disinfectant against bacteria. 

IMG_6709

 

I started by taking 1/2 a tsp of coconut oil in my palm, then putting two drops of each oil in my hand, and stirring them around. Then I kinda cupped my hand and quickly put it overtop of the tick bite and rubbed it around. Roscoe has never had a problem with ticks before, but I decided that not on my watch would this be the time something happened!! 

If you notice a tick bite on animal, or human, getting red and swollen or infected please seek medical attention. 

I am a DoTERRA Independent Product Consultant and using the following link will earn me commissions. I use DoTERRA because I believe in their quality and I trust them 100% to use on my whole family. If you have any questions about essentials PLEASE ask me! I’m not in this just to sell them, I truly just want more people to discover how versatile, intuitive and simple to use they are. Please know the quality of your oils before using them. Find my webstore here. 

Find out more about Essential Oils on the Essential Oil tab at the top! 

Leave a Reply

